Dispelling DUI Myths
In Oklahoma, it is unlawful for a motorist to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs to a certain degree which renders the driver incapable of driving safely. Nonetheless, there are lots of false assumptions and collective popular opinions surrounding Oklahoma DUI cases. Due to this, a defendant charged with DUI could easily end up in the worst possible scenario without detailed guidance or experienced representation.
At the Military Law Group, I'm committed to providing comprehensive legal guidance and reliable representation to clients in DUI cases. As a knowledgeable Oklahoma criminal defense attorney, I can investigate all of the facts of your case, strategize a strong defense to help fight your drunk driving charges, and attempt to keep your record as clean as possible. My firm proudly represents clients across Tulsa, Oklahoma, and other parts of the Tulsa metro area.
DUI Charges in Oklahoma
According to Oklahoma DUI laws, motorists are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle:
While under the influence of alcohol or drugs to an extent that makes the person incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle.
With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more.
With any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance in their system.
A person convicted of a DUI charge may face massive fines, lengthy jail time, probation, license revocation or suspension, and other devastating, life-changing consequences.
Common Myths and Facts About DUI’s
The misinformation surrounding impaired driving cases makes many people wrongly informed about the facts. Due to this, many defendants face serious ramifications or end up in a complete nightmare when arrested for drunk driving. Conversely, differentiating facts from fiction and knowing what to expect can make your DUI case feel more manageable. Here are some common myths about DUIs in Oklahoma and a brief explanation of why they are false:
Myth #1: A DUI Charge Isn't Worth Fighting
Fighting your DUI allegations is entirely worthwhile. In Oklahoma, a first drunk driving conviction results in between ten days and one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, license revocation for 180 days, and other life-long consequences. The nature of these penalties and consequences makes fighting your drunk driving charge worth it.
Myth #2: The Charge Is so Common It Isn't Serious
However, it is wrong to assume that a DUI charge isn't really serious. If you are convicted, you could be facing lengthy jail time, hefty fines, and license revocation or suspension. You will also face other long-lasting ramifications, including loss of driving privileges, increased auto insurance premiums, difficulties in getting a job, housing, public assistance, education opportunities, and other benefits. If you decide not to fight your DUI charge, it could potentially ruin your life and future.
Myth #3: You Must Submit to A Field Sobriety Test
This is not true. Field sobriety tests are a group of three tests – the walk-and-turn, the horizontal gaze, and the one-leg stand tests - used by police officers to determine whether a driver is impaired. Under Oklahoma law, you are not required to submit to any field sobriety test. There is no punishment for refusal.
Myth #4: A DUI Will Fall Off My Record in Seven Years
This is another common misconception. A DUI or DWI conviction will remain on your driving record with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) for ten years. Unless you take action to seal it, the DUI conviction will stay on your criminal record permanently.
Myth #5: You Have to Be Actually Driving to Be Arrested for A DUI.
In Oklahoma, a driver can be facing DUI charges even without actually driving. Under the Oklahoma DUI laws, it is illegal for any person to drive, operate, or be in actual physical control of a car while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both. Hence, driving is not required to be arrested for a DUI.
Myth #6: When Arrested for A DUI, I Don't Have to Submit a Urine or Blood Test.
Oklahoma has an "implied consent law." Unlike a field sobriety test, you are legally obligated to submit to a chemical test— blood, breath, or urine test — to determine your BAC. If you're pulled over by the police officer on suspicion of driving under the influence, you do NOT have any right to refuse to take a chemical test. Refusing a chemical test will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license.
Work with A Skilled DUI Attorney in Tulsa, Oklahoma
Facing drunk driving charges can be devastating and affect your freedom, personal reputation, quality of life, professional and future opportunities. With your driving privileges and future on the line, fighting your drunk driving charges with experienced representation is always advisable to avoid severe punishment and other social ramifications. An experienced DUI defense attorney can help build a strong defense and fight to protect your best interests.
At the Military Law Group, I have devoted my career to handling criminal cases and representing individuals who have been wrongfully accused of driving under the influence. Using my in-depth legal understanding, I will help you navigate the Oklahoma criminal justice system and fight for the best available outcome for your unique situation.
Facing DUI charges can be frightening. Don't face them alone. Contact my firm – Military Law Group – today to schedule a simple case assessment with a skilled criminal defense attorney. My firm proudly represents clients in Tulsa, Oklahoma, including the metro area.